Skip to content

2012 WISE Awards – nominate inspiring women in STEM (deadline extended to 25th June)

The UK Resource Centre for Women in Set and the Women in Science and Engineering campaign have merged and therefore the UKRC’s Women of Outstanding Achievement Awards and the WISE Annual Awards will be merged to deliver one prestigious event – The 2012 WISE Awards in association with Amey, to be held in October 2012 at The Institution of Engineering and Technology, London. The WISE Awards will be presented in recognition of the achievement of companies and individuals in promoting science, engineering and construction to girls and young women. The high profile annual photographic exhibition, the Women of Outstanding Achievement Awards, will feature at the same event. The exhibition is a collection of creative and dramatic portraits that profile outstanding contemporary women within science, engineering and technology.

I once successfully nominated Carol Robinson for the Women of Outstanding Achievement Awards (and got to go along to the award dinner…). Who could you nominate? There are 4 different categories

1. For Innovation and Entrepreneurship
Celebrating women who are creating change, making discoveries, innovating processes, establishing new ventures and helping the UK excel in science, engineering and technology.
2. For Communication and Outreach
Sponsored by the Science and Technology Facilities Council Paying tribute to women who are communicating about science, engineering and technology within local communities, bringing their work and thereby the wider role of science, engineering and technology to children, schools, families, journalists, policy makers and many other audiences.
3. For Leadership and Inspiration
Profiling the women who are leading STEM businesses, research teams, academic organisations or professional bodies – women who are creating change and transforming culture and ways of working.
4. For Lifetime Achievement (which Athene Donald won last year).

Deadline for completed entries is midnight on 25th June 2012.  Nominate someone today!

Tennie Videler (co-Chair)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: